Skip to main content

Remove a user from GitHub

There are a couple of scenarioes where we will remove someone from the LBHackney-IT GitHub organisation:

  • They leave Hackney
  • They no longer contribute to engineering projects or don't need access to GitHub anymore.

There are two workflows: one for users with Hackney accounts and one for those that don't (outside collaborators). Always prefer the Hackney Google account route where possible.

Staff and users with Hackney Google account​

Prerequisites​

  1. The Manager role in SAML-Github-Users, which includes the Head of Engineering and Lead Engineers.
  2. The Owner role on the LBHackney-IT organisation (as of 2024 that's the Head of Engineering and some Lead Engineers).

Steps​

  1. Remove the person from the SAML-Github-Users Google Group.

  2. Find the user in the People list, click the ... dropdown, then select Remove from organization: Screenshot showing the steps described above in the GitHub interface

ℹ️ It's necessary to remove the user from both Google and GitHub to ensure all access is revoked in a timely fashion and they cannot re-join the GitHub organisation.

Outside collaborators​

It is possible to remove people from individual repositories, however the process described here requires fewer steps.

Prerequisites​

  1. You must have the Owner role on the LBHackney-IT organisation (as of 2024 that's the Head of Engineering and some Lead Engineers).

Steps​

ℹ️ These steps are also described in the official GitHub documentation, which includes alternative instructions to remove people from individual repositories.

  1. Visit People -> Outside collaborators.
  2. Select the people you'd like to remove from the organisation.
  3. Above the list of outside collaborators, select the X collaborators selected... dropdown menu, and click Remove from all repositories.
  4. Review the confirmation notice and confirm by clicking Remove outside collaborators.